Anda Kuo, MD was presented with the Service Award by Helen Loeser on September 24, 2012.

Photo credit: Elisabeth Fall/fallfoto.com


Excellence in Teaching Awards

About the Awards
The Excellence in Teaching Awards are peer-nominated and intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students and residents at all UCSF teaching sites who might otherwise go unrecognized. These teachers should demonstrate dedication to the education of students/residents/fellows, and teach in a manner that creates an encouraging and intellectually stimulating environment that promotes critical thinking and learning.

The award cycle is annually, and is from May/June — July.

Excellence in Teaching Award Winners for 2013-2014

Eligibility Requirements

  • All School of Medicine faculty members at all UCSF teaching sites: Parnassus, SFGH, VAMC (and affiliated VA sites), Kaiser, Mount Zion, UCSF Fresno, Kaiser, and Mission Bay.
  • Must teach SOM learners — students, residents, and fellows.
  • Schools of Nursing, Pharmacy, and Dentistry faculty are eligible if they teach SOM learners, but must be nominated by SOM faculty.


Who can nominate?
UCSF School of Medicine faculty members who are among the following:

  • Members of the Academy of Medical Educators
  • Residency Program Directors
  • Clerkship Directors
  • Course Directors and Course Co-Directors
  • Associate and Site Directors of the above three programs

Submission Guidelines:

  • Each nominee requires two faculty nominators
  • Nominee may be from within or outside of the nominator's department
  • Faculty who submit one primary nomination are allowed to be a secondary nominator for one additional nominee
  • The two nominators must submit a single nomination form attesting to the nominee's teaching qualities and characteristics, which is submitted to the recipient and department Chair.
    • 250 word or 1800 character maximum for each statement of support

The Academy's Excellence in Teaching Awards Action Group reviews all nominations and determines the recipients. Recipients receive a certificate and letter copied to their department chair.

Please contact the Academy Office at 514-2282 if you have any questions, or email Karen Brent at brentk@medsch.ucsf.edu.