Madhavi Dandu, MD, MPH, was inducted into the Academy by Catherine Lucey, MD, and Helen Loeser, MD, MSc, at the 2014 Celebration of New Members.

Photo credit: Elisabeth Fall/fallfoto.com

The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators Membership

The Academy has 110 members*, out of a school-wide faculty of approximately 2,000. Academy members represent six core teaching sites--East Bay, Fresno, Mt. Zion, Parnassus, SFGH, and VAMC--and 21 of 28 clinical and basic science departments. The membership ranges from assistant to full professor, and includes ladder, in-residence, clinical X, clinical, adjunct and emeritus faculty.

Members are expected to be active citizens of the Academy by participating in Academy governance, programs and events and furthering our mission throughout the broader teaching community. Academy members serve as mentors to School of Medicine faculty, across the medical education continuum, including medical students, residents and other faculty interested in developing as educators. They assist courses, clerkships and departments in strengthening their teaching upon request.

The Academy selects new members annually. Candidates prepare an application comprised of a personal statement and an educator's portfolio that is reviewed by a panel of national experts in medical education and faculty development. Final selection is made by the Academy's Membership Committee. Chosen members must be excellent direct teachers of medical students, residents fellows and/or faculty development for teachers/educators, and must also demonstrate outstanding accomplishment in one or more additional areas of medical education activity: mentoring and advising; curriculum development, instructional design and technology; educational leadership; and learner assessment.

*as of September 2014