Member News


Dan Lowenstein, MD, has been appointed the next executive vice chancellor and provost for UCSF. He will collaborate with the Chancellor's leadership team to develop and implement campus priorities across UCSF's mission areas of research, education, and patient care.

"He is universally admired among faculty, staff and students. A legendary educator and mentor, Lowenstein has been lauded with every major teaching award in medical education granted by students and colleagues both locally at UCSF and nationally."

To read more, click here.

Publication highlights:

Chen HC, MD, van den Broek WE, Cate OT. The Case for Use of Entrustable Professional Activities in Undergraduate Medical Education. Acad Med. 2014 Dec 2. PMID 25470310.

A competency framework aligning UME and GME expectations would enable integration across the continuum consistent with progressive skill development. Core, specialty-specific, and elective EPAs for UME are recommended.

Announcements & Events

2014-2015 Academy Seasonal Meetings

February Academy Site-based Workshops Focus on New Educator's Portfolio (EP)

New EP Workshops will be offered at Mount Zion, Parnassus, SFGH, VAMC and Fresno, but each Academy member needs to attend one. Click here for locations, dates, times, and RSVP information.

Education Showcase (formerly the Academy Education Symposium): The Scholarly Basis for Teaching and Learning
March 30-31, 2015
Teaching and Learning Center


Latest Academy in Action Now Available


Members: drop by to use the hotel space in Room LR-102; Click here for guidelines.


















Photo credit: Elisabeth Fall/