Excellence in Teaching Awards

About the Awards
The Excellence in Teaching Awards are peer-nominated and intended to highlight outstanding front-line teachers of medical students and residents at all UCSF teaching sites who might otherwise go unrecognized. These teachers should demonstrate dedication to the education of students/residents, and teach in a manner that creates an encouraging and intellectually stimulating environment that promotes critical thinking and learning.

2013 Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

Who is eligible?

Who can nominate?
UCSF School of Medicine faculty members who are among the following:

  • Members of the Academy of Medical Educators
  • Residency Program Directors
  • Clerkship Directors
  • Course Directors and Course Co-Directors
  • Associate and Site Directors of the above three programs

Submission Guidelines:

  • One nominee per faculty member
  • Each nominee requires two faculty nominators
  • Faculty who submit one primary nomination may be allowed to be a secondary nominator for one additional nominee (please contact the Faculty Development Working Group co-chairs)
  • The two nominators should complete a single nomination form attesting to the nominee's teaching qualities and characteristics
  • Nominee can be within or outside your department
  • 2012- 2013 Submissions: The submission period has ended (as of July 22, 2013). Click here for the list of this year's recipients.

The Academy's Faculty Development Working Group reviews all nominations and determines the recipients. Recipients receive a certificate and letter copied to their department chair.

Please contact the Academy Office at 514-2282 if you have any questions, or email Karen Brent at brentk@medsch.ucsf.edu.