Angel Chen, RN, MSN, PNP, was inducted into the Academy by Talmadge King, MD, and Helen Loeser, MD, MSc, at the 2015 Celebration of New Members.

Photo credit: Elisabeth Fall/

2016 Annual Celebration of New Members

Monday, September 19, 2016
Location TBD

Highlights from the 2015 Celebration of New Members

On Monday, September 28, 2015, the AME honored its fifteenth class of new members, Boyden Staff awardees, AME Service awardees, and 2015 Excellence in Teaching Award reciepients.


The AME New Members for 2015:

Jennifer Babik, MD, PhD – Medicine, SOM

Angel Chen, RN, MSN, PNP – Family Health Care Nursing, SON

Denise Davis, MD – Medicine, SOM

Mitchell Feldman, MD, MPhil – Medicine, SOM

Ivan Gomez, MD, MS – Family and Community Medicine, SOM

Claire Horton, MD, MPH – Medicine, SOM

Conan MacDougall, PharmD, MAS – Clinical Pharmacy, SOP

Steven Pletcher, MD – Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery, SOM

Sumant Ranji, MD – Medicine, SOM

Josette Rivera, MD – Medicine, SOM

George Saba, PhD – Family and Community Medicine, SOM

Stacy Sawtelle Vohra, MD – Emergency Medicine, SOM

JoAnne Saxe, DNP, ANP-BC – Community Health Systems, SON

Nicole Schroeder, MD – Orthopaedic Surgery, SOM

Justin Sewell, MD, MPH – Medicine, SOM

Chris Stewart, MD – Pediatrics, SOM

Patrick Treseler, MD, PhD – Pathology, SOM

Ram Vaderhobli, DDS, MS – Preventative and Restorative Dental Sciences, SOD

Naomi Wortis, MD – Family and Community Medicine, SOM


Boyden Award Winners:

  • Eva Lo

    Program Administrator
    SFGH Primary Care Medicine Residency Program
    Division of General Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine

  • Bonnie Hellevig

    Director, Data and Analytics
    Technology Enhanced Education (TEE)
    Office of Medical Education

Academy Service Award Winners:

  • Brian Schwartz, MD, Medicine
  • Kanade Shinkai, MD, PhD, Dermatology

2015 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients

Monica Lypson, MD, MHPE, is delivering the keynote, Celebrating what Medical Education can do for the Support of Health Equity...Engaging in "BLACK LIVES MATTER"

Dr. Lypson is the Associate Chief of Staff for Education in the Ann Arbor VA Healthcare System, Professor of Internal Medicine & Learning Health Sciences, and was the Assistant Dean for GME in the University of Michigan Health System.

For information about applying to the Academy email Kathleen Land.
For more information about the members of The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators, please click here.

For more information about the awards and past honorees, please click here.